Saturday, 31 August 2013

Friday, 30 August 2013

Saturday, 24 August 2013


Spaghetti Western. One or two striking moments; otherwise, very silly and dead boring.

Monday, 19 August 2013

Inglourious Basterds

Quentin Tarantino’s Inglourious Basterds couldn’t be sillier; though there is something admirable in the way he megalomaniacally insists on rewriting the history of the Second World War because it suits the interests of the film he wants to make.

Saturday, 17 August 2013

Django Unchained

Quentin Tarantino’s truly awful film. Crude, stupid, an insult to the intelligence.

Wednesday, 14 August 2013


David Mamet’s Spartan is bizarre and crude but quite entertaining.

Monday, 12 August 2013

Ghost Dog

Jim Jarmusch’s film is better and more interesting than I remembered, but it’s still not quite right. Bit too contrived and silly.

Friday, 9 August 2013

Tuesday, 6 August 2013

Friday, 2 August 2013

Night on Earth

From Jim Jarmusch’s Night on Earth, the scene in which Roberto Beningi picks up a priest with a bad ticker in his cab and confesses his sexual misadventures to him. Hilarious.

Coffee and Cigarettes

From Jim Jarmusch’s film, the scene with Iggy Pop and Tom Waits.

Thursday, 1 August 2013

Down by Law

Jim Jarmusch on, among other things, the vacuousness of American cool.